Who Can Join?

Credit unions are formed within a common bond—whether it’s occupational, organizational, or geographical. Members can join DGEFCU through the following organizations.

Employer Groups

  • District of Columbia Government employees and others paid by the DC Disbursing Officer
    • Exceptions: employees of the District Board of Education, the District Board of Higher Education, and the District Board of Vocational Education.
  • Black Entertainment Television (Emerge, YSB and Radio Magazines, BET International Holdings, BET Direct and ACTION).
  • Cablevision
  • District of Columbia Housing Finance Agency
  • The Martin Agency
  • American Income Life Insurance Company
  • National Capital Housing Authority/Department of Housing and Community Development
  • Passport Toyota, Marlow Heights, MD.
  • Mi CASA.
  • Maryland & DC Credit Union Association.


Other Organizations

  • Members of Saint Augustine Catholic Parish in Washington, DC.
  • Residents and regularly employed persons in the communities of Adams Morgan, Mount Pleasant and Columbia Heights.
  • Businesses, other legal entities, associations, religious, and other non-profit organizations located within the Adams Morgan/Mt. Pleasant/Columbia Heights community boundaries.

Extended Groups

  • Retirees and pensioners or annuitants from the above employers.
  • Members of any eligible person’s immediate family or household.
  • Organizations of such persons.


Bank on DC Participants

Bank on DC is a joint effort between the District Government’s Office of the Deputy Mayor for Planning and Economic Development (DMPED), financial institutions, and non-profits to provide access to financial services and products to unbanked and under-banked households in the DC Metro Area.   Learn more